Shine On

Earlier this year, I chose a word for 2012. I wanted to join in what seemed to be a trend for the start of the year–not necessarily because it was a trend (I’m certainly not the trendiest or coolest kid on the block), but being a lover of words (as a linguist and wanna-be writer) this trend definitely resonated with me. Many of my friends were choosing their own words to focus and motivate them for the coming year, and so I hopped on the bandwagon!

The word I chose was SHINE.

A dear friend, who I met through this blog and whose blog I LOVE, sent me a keychain with SHINE engraved on it after reading my Word of the Year post. And I am so grateful for the easy, daily reminder that keychain provides! Thank you again, friend!

In the midst of a lot that is going on around me and in our life recently, I keep being brought back to this word, and back to the fact that I chose this word on purpose. I keep re-reading my initial post from January, where I wrote “and so I want to shine light into the lives of others. I want to be intentional about giving of myself. Love more, give more, open myself up more, forgive more, show more grace, be more adventurous, be kinder. In other words, I want to be full of light. Sparkle. Glisten. Radiate.

So here, almost halfway through the year (can you believe it!?), is a post to reclaim that original intention to Shine, Shimmer, Glisten and Radiate…

And to remember that in order to SHINE, I have to have a light inside me: Matthew 5:14-16 “You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do people light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a stand, and it gives light to all in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven.”

So as I start in on the last seven months of 2012, I’m committing again to SHINE and SHINE ON!

