I Need This Today

“Drop the idea that you are Atlas carrying the world on your shoulders. The world would go on even without you. Don’t take yourself so seriously.” ~Norman Vincent Peale

I’ve had a bit of a rough week. I’ve learned a lot, grown a lot, cried quite a bit and thankfully–in the midst of a lot of discomfort–been able to laugh.

Some of the problem this week has been that I do tend to take myself too seriously. I’m definitely a perfectionist but I’m not nearly as bad as I used to be. Thankfully I have people in my life (namely my husband and my father) who help me to laugh at myself and at my circumstances. They’ve helped me to develop a thicker skin and to just go with things. So while crow is most definitely not my favorite meal, I had to own up and eat some this week. But again, I learned from a few mistakes this week and hopefully going forward I’ll get to avoid crow in my future. 😉

What made this past week even more difficult than some of the “food” I had to eat was people who I thought I could trust choosing to deliberately mislead and misdirect me.

But… I’m moving on and getting past it (and though it was a tough week I’m grateful for the experience [on the other side, of course!!], and although I feel like I keep coming back to this passage I can’t help but claim it once again:

Lamentations 3: 21-25

Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope: 22 Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. 23 They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. 24 I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.” 25 The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him, to the one who seeks him;

In all things–in the midst of, and at the end of a rough week–I can trust that He won’t fail me. That where it really matters, I get a “do-over” and my slate is clean. And I can extend the same grace and the same “do-overs” to myself and others!

