Change

On September 9, 2011, I started a 30-Day Blog Challenge. To see all 30 prompts for this challenge (and Day 1′s response), click here. And then return to Life is Grace until October 9th, to read my answers/responses.

Day 22: How have you changed in the past 2 years

Wow. What a question for a blog challenge! Well, sit back, relax and let me tell you a story… Ha! Not really! I won’t get too bogged down in the details. Which, is my natural tendency. I’m a detail-person, I appreciate back-story and so tend to assume everyone else does, too. Um, not quite. 🙂

Nice segue, though. So, I’ll start there…

  • I’ve learned to trim my details a bit. While still keeping things interesting (for me, as the story-teller, but also for those listening), I’ve learned that I don’t *always* need to include “So the woman who wants to book a Trunk Show with me, Oh! Did I tell you how much we really clicked!? She also loves to read, likes the color pink–but doesn’t decorate with or even wear much of it, yada, yada, yada…” before I actually get to my point.
  • I’ve stepped out of my comfort zone quite a bit. Whether it’s with my job as a Stylist with Stella & Dot (talking to people I don’t know or have had very little interaction with), putting myself out there in the blogosphere to write and share my feelings in a way I’d never been comfortable with in the past or just sharing myself with people–when before I wasn’t as confident about doing so.
  • I’ve learned to stand up for myself and to assert how I should (and should not) be treated. In walking through several friendships over the course of the last 10 years where I was manipulated and silenced, I’ve seen how I contributed to these patterns in some cases, and grown and changed as a result of them. I’ve also realized more quickly how I can divert similar patterns–as some of these people remain in my life–and also how to recognize people who will manipulate early on, so as not to become close friends with them.

…whew! That last one seems a bit harsh, but as I said here, people come into our life and while some stay for life, others stay for just a season. Those who stay for just a season may be people we choose to “leave behind” for the damage they do… Oh, how I wish it wasn’t the case that someone we call “friend” would do damage, but they do.

