Mainstream Music

On September 9, 2011, I started a 30-Day Blog Challenge. To see all 30 prompts for this challenge (and Day 1′s response), click here. And then return to Life is Grace until October 9th, to read my answers/responses.

Day 16: Your views on mainstream music

As I said yesterday, I really love music; everything from Classic Rock (from the 60s & 70s–I feel like I have to qualify that, since now even 90s Rock is played on “Classic Rock” stations) to 80s music, and 90s alternative and rock. There isn’t a TON of more recent music that I love, but some more recent bands have come out that I do really like.

As you can see from this post, there’s quite a good mix. I just don’t really like “pop” music, R&B, heavy metal or country.

My absolute FAVORITES–as in all time–are U2, The Beatles, John Mayer, Coldplay, and Caedmon’s Call. I could listen to all of their music, over and over and over and be completely happy.

But I also really love Counting Crows, The Police, Mumford and Sons, Matchbox 20, Foo Fighters, Billy Joel, Queen, Bruce Springsteen, Lifehouse, Pink Floyd, David Crowder Band, Goo Goo Dolls, The Beachboys, Colin Haye, Damien Rice, Snow Patrol, Dave Matthews Band, Jackson Browne, Derek Webb, OneRepublic, Elton John, The Eagles, Eric Clapton, Creedance Clearwater Revival, The Fray, Jack Johnson, Switchfoot, Joshua Radin, Santana, Margaret Becker, Patty Griffin, Ray LaMontagne…

I’ll stop there, since the list is much longer and I don’t want to bore you.

