Buried

Last week we watched the movie Buried. I’m still thinking about it. It was, without a doubt, the most stressful and anxiety-ridden movie I’ve seen in a long time. Maybe ever.

I knew going into it that Ryan Reynolds‘ character, Paul Conroy, was going to spend the entire movie (1 hour, 35 minutes) buried in a coffin. But that was it. That alone made me a little nervous. I don’t usually “do” movies like this very well. They have a tendency to get in my head and stay there…

This thing starts out tense and does not let up! This dude is buried alive! Talk about a stressful situation, one that would cause anyone to freak out. Then couple it with the fact that Paul was a truck driver for a company that stationed him in a high-risk area of Iraq. When he comes to, it’s pitch-dark, he’s bound and gagged, in a coffin. B-U-R-I-E-D in a C-O-F-F-I-N! Did I mention that?!  Paul eventually finds a Zippo, a cell phone and a pencil (and later, a flask, glow sticks and a pocket knife), and starts calling every single person he can–including the FBI and State Department. Paul eventually discovers (upon receiving a phone call from his kidnapper) that he’s being held for ransom by an insurgent and must negotiate one million dollars in ransom. He panics MANY times during the course of the movie (would’t you?)–often causing him to make poor decisions, but he’s also resourceful and funny.

I absolutely cannot imagine. It definitely took some time for Buried to sink its claws into me; I was ready to turn it off within just a few minutes. But we kept watching, and soon I was keyed into the fear Paul was feeling. It was visceral. Still, anyone with intense claustrophobia would be wise to skip this nightmarish experience. 🙂

