Thankful #8

Today I’m thankful for a few vacation days with my husband. He’s taking off today and tomorrow to give us a really long weekend together. We’re not doing anything extra-special, in terms of going anywhere. But we are spending them together. And that’s special enough for me.

I’m also thankful for Christ–the sacrificial Lamb, who takes away my sins. And your sins. And the sins of the world (John 1:29).

Source: Pinterest

I read a blog post on The Poached Egg last week. Ever checked it out? I highly recommend taking a look! The post was an excerpt from the book:  Bono: In Conversation with Michka Assayas. Below are a few lines from the post, entitled Bono Interview: Grace Over Karma. To read more of the excerpt, click here.

Assayas: The Son of God who takes away the sins of the world. I wish I could believe in that.

Bono: But I love the idea of the Sacrificial Lamb. I love the idea that God says: Look, you cretins, there are certain results to the way we are, to selfishness, and there’s a mortality as part of your very sinful nature, and, let’s face it, you’re not living a very good life, are you? There are consequences to actions. The point of the death of Christ is that Christ took on the sins of the world, so that what we put out did not come back to us, and that our sinful nature does not reap the obvious death. That’s the point. It should keep us humbled. It’s not our own good works that get us through the gates of heaven.

Thankful today, and everyday, for the work of Jesus–the Sacrificial Lamb. For I can do nothing. NOT. ONE. THING. To earn God’s love or forgiveness.

