My Father’s Dragon

“When you read a book as a child, it becomes a part of your identity in a way that no other reading in your whole life does.” ~ Nora Ephron (You’ve Got Mail)

“The books we enjoy as children stay with us forever — they have a special impact.” ~Sid Fleischman

What book do you remember from childhood that gives you a warm, fuzzy feeling and good memories?

This is a tough question for me because ever since I can remember, I have loved to read. And there are many books that have made their mark on me, in one way or another. I remember reading all kinds of books–anything I could get my hands on–from a very early age. In fact, there are family vacations that I don’t remember specific details about because my nose was buried in a book! But some of my earliest memories of reading are of my dad reading 2 books with me: My Father’s Dragon and The Dragons of Blueland–both by Ruth Stiles Gannett.

If I remember correctly, I think my dad read these books when he was a kid… Dad, if you’re reading this, can you help me out?

There are definitely other books that made their mark. The Little House on the Prairie books (by Laura Ingalls Wilder), and the Ramona Quimby books (by Beverly Cleary) are 2 series that stick out…

What about you? What book (or books) do you remember from childhood that stand out in your mind for one reason or another? Whether you remember reading them over and over, or because they bring specific memories with them, or even something entirely different?

