Red or Blue?

“You take the blue pill – the story ends, you wake up in your bed and believe whatever you want to believe. You take the red pill – you stay in Wonderland and I show you how deep the rabbit-hole goes.” ~ Morpheus (from the film The Matrix)

Background on the red pill vs. blue pill here.

I prefer to know the truth–most of the time. Sometimes though, I actually believe the lie in order to make my life easier. Does that make sense? So I guess you could say I take both pills.

When I’m being honest with myself and with others, and seeking truth, when I REALLY want to live in and BY truth, then I “take the red pill”. But when I’m content to live in “blissful ignorance”, or when I want to ignore what’s going on, I “take the blue pill”.

There’s a song by Caedmon’s Call that starts with the lyrics “Sometimes I believe all the lies so I can do the things I should despise” (“Shifting Sand”, 40 Acres). I guess you could say that’s also one of the times that I willingly choose to “take the blue pill”.

If given the choice, are you the kind of person who takes the red pill, or the blue pill? Why? And when do you willfully do the opposite?

