Up to Bat

Last night my husband and I had a *very* late dinner at one of our favorite restaurants. As we were waiting for our food to come, I noticed that there was a baseball game on TV. The Reds were playing the Orioles in Baltimore.

I’m not much of a baseball-watcher… Unless I’m actually there watching it in person. I love the crowds, the stands, the food, the game, the music–everything. But it is pretty boring to watch on TV (in my opinion).

One of my favorite things about being at a baseball game is to find out what the players’ “up to bat” song choices are going to be. It’s something I really tune in to… It’s just a blurb of some song (usually a rock song) that the players have chosen to have blasted over the loud speakers to announce “here I am!”, and to get them all psyched up. But for some reason they always stand out to me.

I remember being at an Atlanta Braves game with my husband (it was our first date), and talking about these song choices. And I decided right then and there, that if I were ever up to bat (yeah right, Melissa!), my song choice would be “Every Little Thing She Does is Magic” by The Police. Maybe a little random, but also appropriate! Because 1) it’s one of my favorites by one of my favorites, and 2) I’d be announcing that I’d be about to “work a little magic” (if I could actually HIT the ball!!)

So, now that I have you thinking, what would your “up to bat” song be?

Leave your answer in the comments, and if you have a chance, get out there and go to a baseball game! It’s SO much fun, especially now that it’s summer!!

