Adobo Pork

I subscribe to quite a few blogs. Many of them are cooking blogs, which I lovelove to read and get inspiration from. I typically use the recipes I find there as a jumping off place, as I tweak the recipes either according to the ingredients I have in my own pantry or based on our own tastes.

However, I found a recipe last week that I followed to. the. letter. It was delicious! It was a recipe for Adobe Rubbed Pork Tenderloin. Trust me. It’s delicious, easy and something that has gone in my arsenal for future use!

The recipe is from Sweet Caroline’s Cooking. I found her blog when she commented on my Strawberry Shortcake post. I’m SO glad she commented, because I love her recipes! She posted 2 other recipes with her Adobe Rubbed Pork that I didn’t make, but I’m so eager to give them a go–SOON!!

Anyway, here’s the recipe:

Adobo-rubbed pork tenderloin recipe:

3 tbsp. paprika

1 tbsp. black pepper

1 tbsp. salt

1 tbsp. chili powder

2 tbsp. brown sugar

24 oz. pork tenderloin

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Trim silver off of both pork tenderloins. In a small bowl, mix paprika, black pepper, salt, chili powder and brown sugar.

Thoroughly rub both sides of pork tenderloin pieces with dry rub. Preheat skillet or indoor grill pan over medium-high heat and pan-sear pieces until golden brown on both sides. Transfer tenderloin pieces to cookie sheet and place in oven. Cook until done, about 6 to 8 minutes for each inch of thickness–about 25-30 minutes total.

**Just a note: I seared the pork in a cast-iron skillet, so as not to have to transfer the meat before cooking in the oven.

The verdict? It was tender and juicy, and the dry rub was just delicious!! It was spicy, but not too much. In fact, the brown sugar tempered the heat of the other spices PERFECTLY!!

I paired the pork with some couscous and stir-fried broccoli. It was all so good! But you can bet I’ll be trying Caroline’s glazed carrots and rosemary-chili fingerling potatoes SOON!

