13 Days

We are 13 days away from closing on the house. And I can hardly wait! All that remains to be done are just the finishing touches… Things like sodding the yard, hanging the light fixtures, finishing the floors and touching up the paint and trim!

It’s hard to believe that we are actually moving in! I’m so excited to see it all come together. There still remains a lot to be done on our end, once we have the keys in hand. But we’ve scheduled delivery for the new pieces of furniture we’ve bought, and we had our windows measured for blinds yesterday. It takes about 2 weeks for those to come in after we order them, so we may be hanging some sheets in our windows for a couple of days but that’s not too bad! All in all, we’re making headway.

One of the things I’m MOST excited about having as part of our new home is the patio. One of our options, which we wholeheartedly added (!!), was an outdoor entertainment deck/patio. It’s on the main level of the house, right off the kitchen. It’s covered, has a fireplace, an outdoor refrigerator and a grill. The fact that it’s covered and has a fireplace makes it useable for more of the year than just during the summer. Granted, we were just talking about how Kentucky seems to have only 2 seasons: summer and winter. What happened to spring and fall?? So when it’s freezing-butt cold here, I’m thinking we may not be sitting outside. But at least we’ll have the option, right? 🙂

Anyway, I lovelove grilled food–of all kinds. And I know I’m going to love being able to step right outside my kitchen to use our grill. In fact, you might even catch me doing this:

That is, if you happen to be one of my neighbors!!

