Something Borrowed

This past weekend my husband and I went to see the movie Something Borrowed. It was actually really good. Better than I expected, in fact. I read the book, which was written by Emily Giffin, about 6 years ago. And I loved it. More than being a”typical” chick lit novel, it really brings some issues of friendship and relationships into the spotlight. Giffin writes about these things deftly, but lightly enough that the book is still a fun, easy read.

But I’m always a little nervous when some of my favorite books are brought to the big screen. Will the movie do the book justice? Will the actors chosen to play the characters be the people I’ve created in my mind? I know this is natural; when we read a book, we see the characters in our mind’s eye. And it can be mighty disappointing to find them brought to life in a way that doesn’t do them justice.

Something Borrowed did NOT disappoint! The characters were perfect! I knew going in that the cast was great: Kate Hudson, Ginnifer Goodwin, John Krasinski and Collin Egglesfield. And they all did a fantastic job bringing the story of Rachel, Darcy, Dex and Ethan to life! It was funny, sad and even poignant in parts as Rachel was faced with her opportunity at true love, even at the cost of losing her best friend. And even in bringing the book to the screen, the filmmakers remained true to the complexities that give this story its heart. As Emily Giffin herself said “It is my kind of movie — a romantic comedy with heart and depth and relatable characters. It entertains but really makes you think, too. Unfortunately, a rarity in this genre” (citysbest.com/atlanta)

While I did enjoy the characters played by Ginnifer Goodwin (Rachel) and Collin Egglesfield (Dex), Kate Hudson and John Krasinski’s performances (Darcy and Ethan) were much more engaging and enjoyable to watch. The story centered more around the characters of Rachel and Dex, so they had to drive the plot. However, should the sequel to Something Borrowed get the green light, then we’ll be seeing a lot more of Darcy and Ethan (!!!) since it is their story that Something Blue (the sequel) expands upon. Kate Hudson is so much fun and has such a glow and Darcy-like energy to her. She absolutely nails Darcy’s essence and pulls off her self-centered charm flawlessly. Something Blue is my favorite of the two books, so here’s hoping we’ll be seeing it in theaters, too!

I highly recommend seeing the movie… And if you enjoy a good book, then read Something Borrowed, and its sequel, Something Blue (which, if the weekend’s numbers are any indication, will also be brought to the big screen)!

