Acceptance

Loving the prompt from The Daily Post… It’s from last week.

Where do you find acceptance? For your ideas? For the secret notions you have for who you really want to be? Or think you are? Who are the friends, family or co-workers who are most accepting of your true self? And how do they demonstrate their acceptance? What is different about how they treat you than other people?

First and foremost, I find acceptance from God and in my relationship with Him. He knows my inmost parts–He searches me, knows me, perceives my thoughts from afar, and is familiar with all of my ways. He knit me together and created every single bit of me (Psalm 139). In this I find great acceptance! Since He created me just as I am, I know He loves me just as I am!

I also find acceptance from my husband. Since day one, he has accepted me–all of me–for who I am. I have never felt uncomfortable in sharing myself with him. In fact, he has encouraged me to do so since the very beginning. I often think he knows me better than I know myself, and there’s such a comfort in this! I don’t have to hide, or worry that he won’t love me. There’s a comfort in being known–truly known–and loved for (and in spite of) myself!

My family also accepts me for who I am. They show up, they don’t judge. They just show love and acceptance. They support my dreams and aspirations (even the wild ones!) and they’ve been constant cheerleaders in my life.

Thankfully, (and I feel like this is just icing on the cake!) I also have a core group of friends who will support and accept me. Women who come alongside me and walk through this life with me. There’s no need to justify what I say or how I feel, they just know me and know my heart well enough that there’s no hiding with them.

Each of these people/groups are constants in my life about whom I can confidently say:

“Oh, the comfort, the inexpressible comfort of feeling safe with a person, having neither to weigh thoughts nor measure words, but pouring them all out, just as they are, chaff and grain together, certain that a faithful hand will take and sift them, keep what is worth keeping, and with a breath of kindness blow the rest away.” ~ George Eliot (Pseudonym of Mary Ann Evans, 1819-1880)

That God has surrounded me with such a community of people in my life–so many who don’t ask, don’t think, they just show up–makes my cup run over! What an awesome thing to be able to look to so many people and know that they will celebrate when it’s time to celebrate, mourn when it’s time to mourn, encourage when it’s time to encourage and speak truth when I need it!

I am SO thankful for these people!

