I Dare You

“Welcome to the planet
Welcome to existence
Everyone’s here
Everyone’s here
Everybody’s watching you now
Everybody waits for you now
What happens next?
What happens next?

I dare you to move
I dare you to move
I dare you to lift yourself up off the floor
I dare you to move
I dare you to move
Like today never happened
Today never happened before

Welcome to the fallout
Welcome to resistance
The tension is here
The tension is here
Between who you are and who you could be
Between how it is and how it should be

I dare you to move
I dare you to move
I dare you to lift yourself up off the floor
I dare you to move
I dare you to move
Like today never happened
Today never happened

Maybe redemption has stories to tell
Maybe forgiveness is right where you fell
Where can you run to escape from yourself?
Where you gonna go?
Where you gonna go?
Salvation is here

I dare you to move
I dare you to move
I dare you to lift yourself, to lift yourself up off the floor
I dare you to move
I dare you to move
Like today never happened
Today never happened
Today never happened
Today never happened before”

~ Switchfoot, “Dare You to Move“, The Beautiful Letdown

I love every single lyric in this song. And I love how the lyrics pair with the music. It is all together fantastic!

I love that Switchfoot is “daring” us to get out there and LIVE! And to make the most of every opportunity, because “today” has never happened before! How easy it is to just go through the motions… Cranking out our work and daily chores. Even in our interactions with others, we say and do the same things. But I want to make sure that I live and move and let my conversation be full of grace and seasoned with salt.

While this entire song resonates with me, my favorite lyrics are these:

“Maybe redemption has stories to tell
Maybe forgiveness is right where you fell
Where can you run to escape from yourself?
Where you gonna go?
Where you gonna go?
Salvation is here”

I love that in just a few short lines, I get such a FULL reminder of several things:

  • “Redemption has stories to tell”–that everyone’s story is different and yet so overflowing with the grace and love of God! And that we can return to those redemptive stories when we need reminding of who He is. In fact, God continues to redeem us! Over and over again! My life is filled with places that I can return to. I have “memorials”–just like when the Israelites built altars to worship God and remind themselves of what He’d done to save and deliver them. I’ve journaled about the many times God has done the same in my life.
  • “Forgiveness is right where you fell”–God comes alongside me at the exact point, the exact place in time when I fall. And He embraces me AS I AM. He doesn’t ask that I get my life all cleaned up before He can forgive me! He does the saving and the delivering, He extends His grace and forgives it all! Immediately. That–the fact that He does that–is overwhelming to me. Always!
  • “Salvation is here”–Right here. Right now!! I don’t have to look beyond the provision of Jesus!
