50 Questions, Part 1

1. How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are? I’m pretty sure I would be somewhere in my mid- to late twenties. I always get mistaken for somewhere in that range (which I’ve finally learned to take as a compliment).

2. Which is worse, failing or never trying? Never trying! Absolutely! I hate to fail, but I’d much rather fail than to look back and never have tried.

3. If life is so short, why do we do so many things we don’t like and like so many things we don’t do? SUCH a good question! I’m trying to reconcile this, more and more.

4. When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done? I sure hope not! I want my life to be a life of action, where I do more than I say. And where I at least back up my words with actions.

5. What is the one thing you’d most like to change about the world? I think if people were more understanding, empathetic and accepting of others. We’re all different! It would be “nice” if everyone thought like me, but really, a world full of me’s would be horrible. That people aren’t all like-minded is what makes things interesting and brings texture to our lives. It also causes us to grow and broaden our own narrow-mindedness–that is, if we’re willing to let others in, extend them grace and understanding and agree to disagree at times.

6. If happiness was the national currency, what kind of work would make you rich? Owning and running my own store–either a children’s bookstore or a small café.

7. Are you doing what you believe in, or are you settling for what you are doing? I am doing what I believe in.

8. If the average human life span was 40 years, how would you live your life differently? I would definitely be speeding things up, and doing more to make an impact!

9. To what degree have you actually controlled the course your life has taken? I’ve pretty much made sure that I haven’t let others take me off-course, or just let my life drift. I’ve gone after what I want!

10. Are you more worried about doing things right, or doing the right things? First and foremost, I commit myself to doing the right things. But then I do what I can to try to make sure that I’m doing those things the “right way”. As I’ve said, I don’t really like to fail… 🙂 Although, I’m getting better at taking risks, and learning (a LOT) from mistakes!

11. You’re having lunch with three people you respect and admire. They all start criticizing a close friend of yours, not knowing she is your friend. The criticism is distasteful and unjustified. What do you do? I would likely let them finish (I don’t like to interrupt). But then I’m sure I would give my own opinion of my friend, which would definitely be in opposition to theirs.

12. If you could offer a newborn child only one piece of advice, what would it be? Do what you love!

13. Would you break the law to save a loved one? While it depends on what law I’d have to break, my answer would probably be YES!

14. Have you ever seen insanity where you later saw creativity? Absolutely!!!!

15. What’s something you know you do differently than most people? It seems that a lot of people settle… They take what they’re given or what just lands in their laps and they settle. And then they complain about their lot in life. I don’t. I never have. I have always pursued excellence. I go after my dreams, and do whatever it takes to get there. Even when there are obstacles in the way. I enlist the help and advice of people who have gotten there before me, and I make the most of every opportunity.

16. How come the things that make you happy don’t make everyone happy? Because we all want different things.

17. What one thing have you not done that you really want to do? What’s holding you back? I want to submit my Master’s Thesis for publication. Fear is holding me back… Fear of rejection. Fear of acceptance. Fear…

18. Are you holding onto something you need to let go of? Um, yes… Working on it.

19. If you had to move to a state or country besides the one you currently live in, where would you move and why? Ireland, Spain, Portugal, Newport, Rhode Island… Why? Because I’d love to live overseas OR on the Northeast coast.

20. Do you push the elevator button more than once? Do you really believe it makes the elevator faster? No. I never do.

21. Would you rather be a worried genius or a joyful simpleton? I’d much rather be a joyful simpleton.

22. Why are you, you? Because it’s who I was created to be.

23. Have you been the kind of friend you want as a friend? For the most part.

24. Which is worse, when a good friend moves away, or losing touch with a good friend who lives right near you? Losing touch with a friend who lives close by. This has never happened, but it seems this can be hard to overcome. The other is something I’ve experienced several times (I’ve either been the friend moving or vice versa) and while distance is hard, it’s not too hard to overcome!

25. What are you most grateful for? God’s grace, my funny, loving husband and my dear family and friends!

