Pot Roast

My husband suggested we have a pot roast this week. I was all for it, but I wanted to change things up a bit. At least in the way I prepared it. I typically use my Dutch oven and my grandmother’s recipe. This time I wanted to use some additional seasonings and give it a whirl. So I went to foodnetwork.com as I typically do for inspiration, and found a recipe by Paula Deen.

Typically, I stay away from her recipes because they often involve loads of calories due to her affinity for butter. Speaking of, did anyone see the episode of SNL that poked fun at Paula Deen’s love for and use of butter? Kristen Wiig did a great impression of her. I won’t post it here because it’s kinda racy but it is pretty funny. Paula Deen is also not shy about using a lot of salt. I can get around these things and cut down on her amounts or just use her recipes as jumping-off points. Which is typically what I do with most recipes. I like being creative in the kitchen, and find that while I may start with a recipe I seldom ever follow it step by step.

In spite of the fact that I don’t usually use her recipes, I did find her recipe for Pot Roast made in a slow-cooker to be a great starting point for us for dinner this past week. The meat ended up being SO tender and juicy, and had a delicious flavor that went SO well with some potatoes and blanched carrots. In addition, the fragrance FILLED our home for almost 8 hours.

Ingredients

(these are what I used; most are different from Deen’s recipe in either the amount or the item called for)
  • 1 (3-pound) boneless chuck roast
  • 1 Tbs. House seasoning + 1 Tbs. more, (recipe: 1/2 cup kosher salt, 1/8 cup pepper, 1/8 cup garlic powder; mix and store for up to six months. Use again in other recipes)
  • 1/8 cup olive oil
  • 1 onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 beef bouillon cubes, crushed
  • 1 can of low-sodium beef broth
  • 4-5 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 (10 3/4-ounce) can condensed cream of mushroom soup
  • 1/2 cup Chardonnay
  • 4 Tbs. Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 russet potatoes, cut into 1/2 inch pieces
  • Approximately 20-25 baby carrots

Directions

Sprinkle roast on all sides with 1 Tbs. house seasoning. Using a skillet over high heat, sear roast until brown in oil. Place roast in a slow cooker, and layer onions, bay leaves, crushed bouillon cubes, beef broth, garlic, Worcestershire sauce, the other Tbs. of house seasoning, and cream of mushroom soup. Add the Chardonnay and cover with enough water to cover all of the ingredients. Cook on the low setting for 8 hours.

This is right after I seared the roast on all sides. I added it to the onions, garlic and liquid mix and then said, ‘Hmmm, I should take a picture!”

I PROMISE my photos will get better! I’m new to this food blogging thing!

After the meat has been cooking for 5 hours, throw the potatoes in, and turn the meat over to continue cooking. Check your seasonings here as well. If you need more salt and pepper, or more Worcestershire sauce, add it now. Stir and let everything continue to cook.

When everything was fully cooked, I boiled the water to blanch my carrots; we LOVE blanched carrots! While they were cooking, I took the meat out and shredded it. Since it had been slow-cooking for between seven and a half and eight hours, it was SO tender and fell apart so easily. Of course I tasted it, and couldn’t wait to put everything together… I drained my carrots and threw them in with everything else, and served our dinner. YUM!

