At My Darkest

Source: gloria-in-excelsis

“Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we boast in the hope of the glory of God… But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” ~Romans 5:1-2, 8

I’m reminded today of this fact… It is nothing I’ve done. Nothing I’ve earned. Only His love and grace. Grace that flows freely, completely and wholly.

C.S. Lewis is one of my favorite authors and theologians. He’s someone whose grasp on the things of God boggles my mind. I read his writings over and over, and just sit, stunned! I love the way he writes, his use of imagery and metaphor, as well as the way he’s able to make things so relevant.

The anecdote below is one that I love, and one that I come back to often.

During a British conference on comparative religions, experts from around the world debated what belief, if any, was unique to Christianity. They began eliminating possibilities. Incarnation? Other religions had different versions of gods appearing in human form. Resurrection? Again, other religions had accounts of return from death. The debate went on for some time until C.S. Lewis wandered into the room. “What’s the rumpus about?” he asked, and heard in reply that his colleagues were discussing Christianity’s unique contribution among world religions. Lewis responded, “Oh, that’s easy. It’s grace

