Shrimp in White Wine Sauce

This past Thursday evening I had planned on making shrimp for dinner. I went to the store and bought fresh shrimp and the ingredients to make a salad. I also bought a small French loaf. Pretty simple ingredients for a simple and easy–but delicious dinner.

Small problem: I totally didn’t even think about how I was going to prepare the shrimp!

So I had to improvise and get a little creative. I searched my cabinets and found these ingredients:

  • White wine
  • Cream
  • Shallots
  • Garlic

Score! With these + a few more odds and ends I could make a creamy white wine sauce.

Here we go… First, I minced 3 cloves of garlic and 2 shallots. Just a note, I lovelovelove garlic, so you could probably take it easy on the garlic and still be OK (i.e. 2 cloves).

Now you’re ready to get cookin’! Yes, you heard that right! That’s the only prep…

Heat your pan (I used a 4-quart saute pan, and just dumped the shrimp in once the sauce was ready) to medium heat, and melt a few tablespoons of butter. Saute your shallots and garlic for a couple of minutes. Then sprinkle everything with about a tablespoon of flour and stir for a bit.

Next, whisk in 1/4 cup of white wine. I used a delicious Pinot Grigio, but I’m sure a Chablis or Chardonnay would be excellent too! When you whisk in the wine, stir constantly. Then let it simmer for about a minute or so.

Pour in 1 cup of heavy cream and simmer over low heat for about 5-7 minutes, until the sauce begins to thicken. Season to taste with salt and a pinch (or 2!) of cayenne pepper and about a 1/2 tablespoon of parsley. I stirred in about another 2 tablespoons of butter at the end–to make it go a little further–right before I added 1 1/2 pounds of peeled and deveined shrimp to cook.

Of course you’ll want to taste this bad boy to check for seasonings before you serve it! This is one of my favorite parts of cooking… So give it a taste, and then add whatever you think it needs. I ended up adding a little more salt and cayenne, to tell you the truth. But I tell you what, this was SOOO good! The sauce was creamy and garlicky, and the cayenne gave it just a little pinch of kick!

All in all, I think the sauce only took about 15 minutes to make–from prep time to completion. And since shrimp only takes about 4 minutes to cook, I was able to have dinner on the table in less than 30 minutes. Yahoo!

