Reclaiming History

Did anyone see 60 Minutes this past Sunday? I have to admit, I don’t usually watch it. But when I saw that they were doing a feature on The King’s Speech, I had to watch! In their words, “The King’s Speech has reclaimed history”; I couldn’t agree more! I am absolutely rooting for this movie to win the Oscar–along with all its principal actors to win their respective categories, as well as Best Director and Best Screenplay. All in all, it’s nominated for 12 Academy awards, and it’s poised to sweep! I so hope that it does.

Source: Wikipedia

I really love movies that are based on true events, so this one has been my favorite all along. But after seeing the 60 Minutes special, I think I may be a little devastated if it doesn’t win. It was so interesting to see the time and research (as well as the protocol that was observed) that went into creating and writing the screenplay, and that the author was able to find out so much about King George VI’s speech impediment through the great grandson of Lionel Logue (the king’s speech therapist).

Couple all of this with the fact that I love Colin Firth and the way he and Geoffrey Rush portray the relationship between teacher and student/therapist and patient. Coming from a background in education, it all resonates so deeply with me.

If you’d like to see the 60 Minutes segment, it’s below. It’s about 15 minutes long, but totally worth it!

 

What do you think? What movie and which actors do you think will take home the Oscars this year?

