Listening Face

Each week so far this month, I’ve written a post about the people I love the most. You can find the first two posts here and here.

Today’s post is about my dad. My dad is awesome! I really don’t know how else to describe him. I love him more than I can say, and I’m so grateful for the example he’s set in my life.

He’s smart and wise.

He’s supportive and encouraging, and has made sure to let me know that he believes in me.

My dad has a pretty great sense of humor. And it can kind of sneak up on you. I love it (well, I’ve grown to love it)! 🙂

On this note, he and my brother have helped me develop a thicker skin–well, thicker than it used to be. I used to take things SO personally, and cry at the drop of a hat. Thankfully, they made sure to keep teasing and working with me on this. Otherwise I wouldn’t have been “ready” for Brock. Who teases and picks in much the same way they did (and still do!)

He’s generous–oh, so generous! …with his time and his resources and his energy. I love this about him and have watched how his choices to give to and bless others have been multiplied back to him and my mom.

My dad has a pretty great ear for music. Well, at least for choosing good music!

He loves to share things with people. When he discovers something new or something that he thinks is pretty fantastic (new music, a new iPhone app, new wine, some food he’s hooked on, etc…), he’s eager to share it. And I really like that he wants to include others in his life.

He is a man of integrity and confidence.

My dad and I have become friends over the years. Which I guess is what happens as you grow older. But I’m so grateful that he’s someone I can talk to and share with.

(If you read the post about Brock, you may notice some similar characteristics between him and my dad. There are so many similarities between them that it’s sometimes a little weird! Brock will even start singing some random song that my dad used to sing when we were kids! But the fact is, my dad set an example for me and set the bar high! Thankfully, Brock meets (and exceeds!) that example in so many ways. And I am so grateful that I have a father who–whether intentionally or just because it’s in his nature and because of who he is–led by example.)

Source: Carolyn_Sewell

The above image refers to an inside joke between me and my dad. I have a tendency to give too many details when he asks me a question (or at least, he seems to think I do). In the past, he was just looking for the bottom line. We’re making progress… I’m being more concise and he’s listening more. 🙂 Thus, the “listening face”.

