Purge in 1/11: Installment #3

I mentioned two weeks ago that I was inspired by one of the blogs I read to use the month of January to declutter and purge. The challenge was set out to get rid of at least 111 things in 1/11 (Jenna’s blog has asked us to link to the blog where she got her inspiration).

Today’s post is my final entry in this 3-part series (read post #1 here, and post #2 here). However, I’m considering revisiting it a couple of times during the course of the year. It’s been really good for me!

So, this week’s list of items to get rid of includes:

1 lamp

10 books that I’ve never read (this was HUGE progress for me!! I’ve had these on my bookshelf for close to 10 years, and still NEVER read them! Parting with books is difficult for me. But I’ve promised Brock I’ll take steps in this, and I’m going to have to take more between now and when we move into our new home.)

16 books I’ve read and will never read again (I have many, many books like this on our bookshelves. But I want to begin clearing some out of the way. Of course, there are many that I want to keep–because they’ve made an impact on me or because I may return to them at some point. But there are, definitely, many that I need to get rid of.)

2 sweaters

4 skirts

8 pairs of socks

2 tote bags

my tendency to replay difficult conversations over and over in my head, where I question what I said and how I responded. I want to learn to trust myself and trust that I’m responding to the Holy Spirit in me during these difficult conversations.

_________________________________________________________________

44 items

TOTAL for the month: 120

 

