Snowed In

…well, not really. But it feels like it.

We got more snow last night, and it’s another cold, cold day.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s beautiful. And I actually like going outside to see it. But if it was just about 15-20 degrees warmer, I might love it (rather than just “like” it), and might want to do more than just “see it”. It’s been TOO COLD to play in the snow!

Ollie LOVES it! He gets out in it and runs, plays, jumps and dances in it. He even dives right into the snow drifts. It’s so funny! But even he thinks it’s a little too cold. After about 10 minutes of playing, he’ll look up at us and whimper as if to say, “OK, let’s go inside. I’m freezing.”

So, when it’s this cold and we’re snowed in, we tend to just hole up inside. I like to eat and drink warm things to help keep warm. I stay bundled up, and usually have a mug of coffee or hot chocolate in my hand, or at least close by. And I like to read or watch movies. When Brock is home with me, we play lots of games: on the Wii, and board games like Scrabble, Farkle, Parcheesi, Yahtzee, and Dominoes.

But alas, it’s not a day when Brock is home. It’s another work day. So I’m fighting the desire to just sit around and do nothing, and instead get some work done.

How do you stay entertained when you’re snowed in?

