Purge in 1/11: Installment #2

As I mentioned in last week’s post, I’m taking a note from one of the blogs I read and using the month of January to purge and declutter. In doing so, I’ve found that a lightness has ensued. Probably because I’m getting rid of a LOT of junk! As I said in last week’s post, some of the things I’m letting go of are things that hinder me in my emotional and spiritual life as well.

While I have found that getting rid of tangible items has been good for me–good for us–I’ve also found that I’m enjoying getting rid of the intangible things just as much. Not necessarily because it’s easier. In fact, it’s usually the opposite! Letting go of the intangible–for me, at least–means making myself vulnerable and admitting to a weakness, to a struggle or a failure. Whether it’s pride or laziness or selfishness, none of these things are easy to admit to. And the process of trying to root them out of my life is not fun. At all.

However, the process is good for me. And what I learn about myself and about my Father in the meantime is something I wouldn’t trade! Knowing that He’s working to refine me and make me more like Himself is both humbling and overwhelming. Knowing that He works in me to root out the sin and that He washes it completely clean totally makes my heart sing!

18 “Come now, let us settle the matter,” says the LORD. “Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red as crimson, they shall be like wool. Isaiah 1:18.

So, this week’s list of items to get rid of includes:

a pile of 12 magazines/catalogs with inspiration for our new home

6 kitchen utensils (an extra can opener, vegetable peeler, tongs (I have three of these; I think I can manage with two), garlic mincer, egg timer, egg separator

27 pieces of costume jewelry (earrings, bracelets, necklaces) that I don’t wear anymore. Most of them are items I have had since college. My style has since changed… quite a bit!

my tendency to hide what is really going on, for the sake of my pride. I totally know that this is something I will likely struggle with continually. But I want to be transparent with others–in all things.

_________________________________________________________________

46 items

TOTAL for the month: 76

35 items to go (at least)

