To See the World

Source: latigar

There are many, many places I want to travel to. To see. To experience. But for the sake of time, I’ll limit this post to my top three. The photos posted below mostly come from Tumblr, and sources are all noted. I’ve included photos of some of the places I would love to see in our travels–when we make these trips one day.

Ireland

If you’ve read the page on this blog entitled “A Pint and a Fag”, you already know that I (well, Brock and I both) want to go to Ireland. It’s a place I’ve wanted to visit for a very long time. I’ve read about Ireland, I’ve read books whose stories are set in Ireland, I’ve studied the Irish languages and accents, and fallen in love with so much of what I’ve found. In addition, many of my ancestors are Irish. I just recently learned that some of my family comes from Bere Island, which is off the coast of County Cork (and has a population of about 210!!). Brock and I are planning to make a trip to the Emerald Isle in the next few years, and neither of us can wait! We’ve even talked about staying for an extended period, if we like it as much as we think we will. I guess we’ll have to play that by ear. The house below is in Dublin. Maybe it will be available for us to stay in when we’re there! 🙂

Dublin, Ireland, Source: sunsurfer

Cliffs of Moher, Ireland, Source: harmonytoyourmelody

Wicklow Mountains, Ireland, Source: irelandchauffeurtravel

Italy

Ciao Bella! Italy didn’t used to be a country I wanted to see. But in the last few years, I’ve studied quite a bit of the language and culture of Italy. This has come partially out of my studies for my master’s degree in linguistics, as well as from an interest in the food of Italy. I lovelove to cook, and to create beautiful, delicious, healthy meals. And the Italians are pros at doing just that! And so, I want so much to see the mountains, the trees, the vineyards where all of it starts. And to be able to experience the language and culture that I’ve come to love.

Veneto, Italy, Source: sunsurfer

Positano, Italy, Source: latigar

Positano, Italy, Source: latigar

Piedmont, Italy, Source: landscapelifescape

Lake Como, Italy, Source: cityoflove

Portugal

I honestly do not even remember when Portugal got on my “must see” list. But it’s been on it for such a long time. As with Ireland, many of my ancestors come from Portugal–from the Azores (the islands off the coast of Portugal). In fact, my grandma speaks Portuguese. I’ve only heard her speak it with her sister, but I have distinct memories of my great-grandmother talking to me in English, and then switching to Portuguese mid-sentence. It always made me laugh. It also made me wish I knew how to speak Portuguese; it is such a beautiful language. I so want to see both the islands where my family are from, as well as the mainland–especially Lisbon.

Lisbon, Portugal, Source: lizlizlovely

Cabo de Roca, Portugal, Source: allthingseurope

St. Miguel, Azores, Portugal, Source: photos.igougo

What are your must-see places? Do you have a top 3?

Have any of you been to any of my top 3? If so, do you have any recommendations?

