Hermit Tendencies

In the last 5 days, we’ve had snow and/or ice for 3 of them. Can we say, “hello, winter!”?

I love winter. I love the cold weather and being able to bundle up in boots, scarves, hats, mittens, sweaters and coats.

But I do not love the bitter winter wind. Or the ice and snow. I do not like being out in such severely low temperatures.

Problem is, I have a sweet little puppy who has to go outside to do his business. So from time to time, we both get bundled up and make the trip outside. I honestly never thought I’d put a sweater on my dog. But it is SO cold here! He needs it so he’s not shivering! Thankfully, he’s content to stay inside most of the day, where he curls up like a cinnamon roll and sleeps on our bed.

If it weren’t for my dog and my husband, I think in weather like this I’d be a hermit. I’m perfectly content to stay in my pajamas inside where it’s warm.

Don’t get me wrong. I get things done. I work from home (which I love), and I work at home. But when it’s cold like this, I can go for a couple of days without leaving the house. Except, of course, to take the biscuit outside.

Anyone else do the same? Or wish they could do the same?

Something I’ve noticed, though: when my husband (who is in sales and can make his own schedule) decides to come home early, I get pretty territorial! As if to say, “what are you doing here?! You can’t be home now!”

Seriously? I think it’s because I’m a little ashamed that he walks in and sees me still in my pajamas at 3:00 in the afternoon. As if the finished laundry doesn’t matter, or the mopped and vacuumed floors mean nothing. Not to mention the fact that I’ve completed all my work for the day and the evening’s meal is already planned. He never bats an eye, or utters a word of criticism. It comes from me…

Why are we so hard on ourselves? Can’t we cut ourselves a break? I know when I come home from being out all day and my husband is still in the same place on the couch that he was when I left–still in his p.j.s–I don’t think anything of it.

So why do I think he’ll be any different?

