30 (interesting) Facts About Me

1-I’m not very good at riding a bike. As a kid, I rode all over the place and had no problem… Fast forward to college: me and my bike did NOT get along. I had 3 pretty bad accidents. I haven’t gotten on one since. But oh, how I wish I could overcome this fear. I used to LOVE riding my bicycle!

2- I had to learn how to say the alphabet backwards in elementary school (for a school musical), and I still remember it to this day.

3- A friend of mine from church was a knuckle-cracker. She got me doing it, and I haven’t been able to stop. I hate it.

4- My favorite flower is a peony. I absolutely can’t wait to have a garden so I can plant some.

5- I’m kind of obsessed with foreign languages. And with how languages and words sound and flow together… always have been. This is *one* of the reasons I went back to school to get my MA in linguistics.

6- I love to cook. I do follow recipes, but usually use them as inspiration. The kitchen is the place where I find my creativity really abounds.

7- I want to own my own business someday. This has been a dream of mine for years (10+). It used to be that I wanted to own a children’s bookstore (a la You’ve Got Mail). But lately (in the past 2-3 years), I’m also considering a café.

8- I’m learning some of what it takes to own and run my own business by working as an Independent Stylist with Stella & Dot. I lovelove my job right now! It’s so much fun (and so rewarding) to plan and carry out Trunk Shows, to sell gorgeous, show-stopping jewelry, and to train and work alongside my new team of Stylists (I have recruited 3 so far, and intend to build a team of many, many more!)!!

9- I love my family more than I can say. And living so far away from them has been very tough.

10- Atlanta is where part of my heart lives. The 7 years I spent there were some of my best!

11- While part of my heart lives in Atlanta, going to Florida is like going home. Always. I guess there’s a part of me that will always be a Florida girl.

12- I love going to the zoo, aquarium, amusement parks. I’m secretly still a little kid.

13- I just started playing golf a couple years ago. I don’t play often, so I’m not that great. But I enjoy it and I can hit the ball right down the fairway.

14- My dad, my brother and I communicate among ourselves with music. We all love it, and we all know it well. Thanks to my dad, who started me and my brother out young.

15- If I had to choose 5 bands/musicians to listen to for the rest of my life (and only those 5), but I could have all their past, present and future music, these are the 5 I’d choose: The Beatles, U2, Caedmon’s Call, John Mayer, Coldplay

16- I am a Boston Red Sox fan. LOVE them! I can remember sitting in a bar in Atlanta watching them bring home their first World Series Title since 1918, in 2004. What an awesome night! This love for the Sox comes from my Dad… he’s the best!

17- I have a crush on the city of Chicago. I went for the first time this past June, and have been back 2 times since that first visit in the past 6 months. I love that it’s so close! And I hope to return often!!

18- I feel so much healthier when I’m running, but it’s often so hard to motivate myself.

19- I’m thinking about starting to train for another running race, but upping the ante to a half-marathon. I need to get to work. Maybe this will keep me motivated…

20- I know way too much about FRIENDS, but that’s what happens when you repeatedly watch the entire series.

21- I’m kind of an elitist when it comes to Macs vs. PCs. I HATE PCs and I lovelovelove Macs. I’ve used them both, and I will never, ever go back to a PC!

22- I hate having my picture taken.

23- My favorite clothing stores are Anthropologie, Banana Republic, Ann Taylor, and LOFT

24- My favorite home décor stores are Crate & Barrel, Anthropologie, Restoration Hardware, Pottery Barn, Ballard Designs, and Ethan Allen

25- I got into my first-choice college (years ago), but tuition was too high. Maybe one day I’ll get to be a Blue Devil. I guess I’ll have to go for that PhD!

26- I have a tendency to be a clutz. It makes me laugh, though. And Brock thinks it’s hilarious. So, at least it keeps us laughing!

27-I love to write. I used to want to be a writer. Maybe that aspiration will rear its head again at some point. For now, though, I’m content with blogging and journaling.

28- I can be a little obsessive when I clean. I want it done all at once, and done right. If it takes me hours to clean the house, then so be it. But I don’t want to clean a little bit and then have to leave the rest for later or another day. I want it all done, or I can’t relax. So I don’t clean unless I can set aside a block of time to get it done (and I am able to do this often enough! Not like I only clean once every 6 weeks).

29- It’s been a while, but I love to play tennis. And, I’m actually pretty good at it. Not, “good” like tournament good, but I can hit the ball and keep it going. Oh, and I can actually serve well and score some points.

30- I love to read. Most anything.

