Best Gifts of the Season

I love to shop. But every year it seems I dread getting out into the holiday hustle and bustle just a little bit more. The traffic, the crowds, the lines… It’s all a little much, and it all serves to dampen my holiday spirit a bit.

So this year I did my shopping much earlier. In fact, except for stocking stuffers and a few more gifts for my husband (that are already picked out), my shopping is done!

In my searching and shopping, I’ve come across some fantastic items and some really great buys. Some of these are items I’ve purchased for people on my gift list, others are items I’ve seen in my browsing. But either way, they’re a sampling of what I’ve seen along the way. So I thought I’d compose an entry with the Best of the Best of 2010 (in my opinion, of course).

GIFTS FOR WOMEN:

Handmade pewter candlesticks (from $80)

didriks.com

 

Dotted gold plate ($32)

baileydoesntbark.com

 

Fragrant Hand Cream ($24)

lollialife.com

 

Decorative metal balls ($28)

kimseybert.com

 

Glint Flower necklace ($39)

stelladot.com

 

Fringe Hoop earrings ($44)

stelladot.com

 

Paisley floral wrap ($59.50)

bananarepublic.com

 

Metropolitan Mixed Chain necklace, LOVING the vintage brooches!! ($198)

stelladot.com

 

TOMS glitter shoes. With every pair of shoes purchased, TOMS will give a brand new pair to a child in need; this is known as their “One for One” program. The movement started in 2006 and as of September of this year, one million pairs of new shoes have been donated. ($54)

toms.com

(they also come in pink, silver and gold)

 

Maya Brenner designs U.S. State necklaces ($130-300)

mayabrennerdesigns.com

 

 

GIFTS FOR MEN:

Leather sports camera ($179)

general-imaging.com

 

Emergency weather radio ($49.95)

llbean.com

 

Whiskey aftershave ($12)

portlandgeneralstore.com

 

Mustache pint glass ($15)

breadandbadger.com

 

Baconnaise, because who doesn’t like bacon? ($5.99)

baconnaise.com

 

Miniature toy robot cuff links ($45)

cosmicfirefly.com

 

John Varvatos “Artisan” cologne ($58-78)

sephora.com

 

Lego architectural series (Frank Lloyd Wright Fallingwater, Frank Lloyd Wright Guggenheim Museum, The White House, Empire State Building, John Hancock Building, Seattle Space Needle and the Sears Tower. $19.99-299.95–for set of 7)

amazon.com (or Barnes & Noble)

 

GIFTS FOR CHILDREN:

Lego Set, see above

 

Old-time toys

spitfiregirl.com

 

Cat-shaped crayons

kittybabylove.com

 

Radio Flyer Lights & Sound Trike, comes in pink, too! ($59.99)

Target

 

Iron Man 2 Radio Control Walking Iron Man ($49.99)

Toys “R” Us

 

Project Runway Fashion Collection ($29.99)

Toys “R” Us 

 


 

