Friends

Last week I had the privilege of spending some time with some great friends…

I got to go to Atlanta to Style a Stella & Dot Trunk Show with 2 friends–Lynn and Trisha–on Thursday. So since I was going to be there, I went a day early in order to spend some time with 3 other friends: Tracy, Cara, and Heather. What a breath of fresh air it was to see, spend time with, and catch up with everyone! Even though time, distance, and busyness get in the way and often keep all of us from checking in on a regular basis, these are all the kind of friends where it never seems to matter. We all just jump right back in as if no time has passed at all.

I taught 5th grade with Lynn and Trisha for 6 years in Roswell, GA. We all 3 hit it off instantly! They are women after God’s own heart, they laugh easily, and we always have such a wonderful time together. I miss them so much when we’re not together, but I know that we think of each other and pray for one another often.

Here they are with another dear friend, Jill, who I was hoping to see this week… Hopefully next time! Trisha is on the left, Jill is in the middle, and Lynn is on the right. This is a photo from my wedding–they all made the trip from Atlanta to FL. Aren’t they awesome friends!!??

I also got to see many other friends at their Trunk Show. SO many dear friends from when I taught at RNE. Going back to Atlanta, and back to RNE is like “going home” for me in so many ways. Those 6 years after I graduated college were when I did so much of my growing up and growing into myself, discovering who I really was. Figuring out what was (and is) important, and what I wanted out of life. And so many of the women I taught with helped me through that. It was such a pleasure to see so many of those dear women!

The other 4: Tracy, Cara, Heather, and Amy are friends from church. We connected through a small group with NPCC, and have remained friends ever since. We are all pretty different, but I honestly think that’s one reason why we’re friends. Another reason is because we’ve always been willing to be transparent with each other. All 4 of these women are honest and true, and seek God singularly in their lives. In doing so, they point me to Christ in all things. I love them all dearly!

Here is a picture of the 5 of us. Just like Lynn, Jill, and Trisha, Amy, Heather, Cara, and Tracy made the trip down for my wedding! Such good friends!!

From left to right: Cara, Amy, (me), Heather, Tracy

Amy ended up not being able to make it to our dinner, and she was definitely missed! But as always, it was such a treat to catch up with everyone.

After I left Atlanta, I headed off to Style another Trunk Show in Tennessee. I stayed the night in Chattanooga with my mom and dad. It was a short visit, but a good one–as always. I love spending time with my parents.

Here are Mom & Dad in Hawaii. This was a family trip that we took the year before Brock came on the scene… Can’t wait to return there with him!!

I left Chattanooga and headed to Murfreesboro, where I stayed with my brother and sister-in-law. I wish they lived closer to us, or that we lived closer to them. But for now, 4 hours will have to be close enough. Here are Carla, Brock, and Brian at our wedding.

 

I love seeing friends and family, and going back to Atlanta, but I missed my boys so much! Brock and Ollie are my favorites, and I miss them like crazy when I’m away.

So it was pretty awesome to walk in the door and see Ollie doing a dance of excitement to see me. Brock didn’t dance, but he did welcome me with open arms and a kiss. 🙂

Ollie sure does love me, and needs to know where I am at all times. But he is, for sure, a “daddy’s boy”!

Last week was a FULL week, but a great one. Now it’s time to start the count-down until Thanksgiving. Only 4 more days! As a friend of mine says, “Thanksgiving is so close I can taste it, and it tastes like pumpkin pie”.

How about you? What does Thanksgiving taste like? Is it pumpkin pie? Stuffing? Pecan pie? Sweet potato casserole?

I think for me, it’s Macaroni and Cheese… HANDS DOWN! I love Macaroni and Cheese, and eat it one or two other times during the rest of the year. But Thanksgiving just isn’t Thanksgiving without my grandma’s Macaroni and Cheese!

 

