My Own Little World

In my own little world it hardly ever rains
I’ve never gone hungry, always felt safe
I got some money in my pocket, shoes on my feet
In my own little world
Population: me

I try to stay awake during Sunday morning church
I throw a twenty in the plate, but I never give ’til it hurts
I turn off the news when I don’t like what I see
It’s easy to do when it’s
Population: me

What if there’s a bigger picture?
What if I’m missing out?
What if there’s a greater purpose
I could be living right now
Outside my own little world

When I stopped at a red light, looked out my window
I saw a cardboard sign, said “Help this homeless widow”
And above that sign was the face of a human
and I thought to myself, “God, what have I been doing?”
So I rolled down the window and I looked her in the eye
I thought how many times have I just passed her by?
I gave her some money then I drove on through
And my own little world reached
Population: two

Father break my heart for what breaks Yours
Give me open hands and open doors
Put Your light in my eyes and let me see
That my own little world is not about me

What if there’s a bigger picture?
What if I’m missing out?
What if there’s a greater purpose
That I could be living right now
I don’t wanna miss what matters
I wanna start reaching out
Show me the greater purpose
So I can be living right now

Outside my own little world.

~My Own Little World, Matthew West

At church this past Sunday, I heard this song for the first time. I’ve got to admit I wrestled with the lyrics for a bit, but they also resonated with me pretty deeply. I’ve found myself singing parts of the song over and over, and so I thought I’d look up the lyrics to really pour over them again. And I have to say, it’s no wonder they’ve stayed with me!

How often do I get wrapped up in my own little world!?

Marriage is so good for me, because it causes me to think about someone other than myself. I am constantly faced with decisions about how my choices and actions will affect my husband. But I love him, and I want to be thoughtful and selfless when it comes to him. What about people I don’t even know? What about the strangers on the street in downtown Lexington? Or the millions of people living in poverty across the world?

The church we attend is so intentional about reaching out to others, and being the church–the body of Christ; making sure we’re reaching out and loving on “the least of these”. Our pastor believes “poverty” describes not only lack of finances, but also occurs in the spiritual, mental, and emotional realms. Weekly, it teaches us and challenges us to be followers of Christ (not just fans!). And in being His followers, we must show our love for Him by loving others.

In the past several months, Brock and I have been talking about several things that will start taking us outside of our “own little world”. From ministry and volunteer opportunities to giving opportunities. From the time we started dating, we were both on the same page as far as being tired of the our society’s obsession with the biggest, the best, the newest, and the fastest. Of course we love to go and do, and we want to have nice things. But we want to make sure that our “stuff” does not get in the way of what truly matters or of being able to make a difference. We want to store up treasures in heaven, not here on earth.

We’d rather be generous here, with our time and money, and know that we’ve shown Jesus to someone.

Father break my heart for what breaks Yours. Give me open hands and open doors. Put Your light in my eyes and let me see. That my own little world is not about me.

What if there’s a bigger picture?
What if I’m missing out?
What if there’s a greater purpose
That I could be living right now
I don’t wanna miss what matters
I wanna start reaching out
Show me the greater purpose
So I can be living right now

Outside my own little world.

 


