2%

I first saw this video about 3 years ago, and thankfully it’s still being circulated. It’s astounding to me…

I watched a segment on the Today Show a few weeks ago about the problem of anorexia, and how young girls can actually go online and find groups and blogs supporting them in their efforts to become dangerously thin (!!!). The doctor being interviewed mentioned that the images of women that we are bombarded with on a daily basis (through print, advertising, and entertainment) are ridiculously photo-shopped and airbrushed. And she said that an alarmingly LOW statistic of women are naturally that small/thin… something like 2% of women?! So why then, has that become the standard? The *acceptable* standard?

If Brock and I have a daughter, I pray we are able to instill in her a healthy body image.

