The Friday Night Knitting Club

Photo credit: {life through the lens}

This photo inspired me to blog about 2 things that I absolutely LOVE! …well, one that I know I love (cooking) and one that I want to love and that I need to give a try (knitting). The composition of this photo, and the objects in it (colander + skeins of yarn) drew my eye in immediately.

Ever since I read Kate Jacobs‘s books about knitting-The Friday Night Knitting Club, Knit Two, and Knit the Season-I’ve been enamored by knitting. Since I read the first one in the series (it’s probably been 3 years), I’ve wanted to take a knitting class, or at least try to teach myself to knit. My mom and sister-in-law are both knitters, and I love to watch them cast on and then go to town!

I love being in stores with them while they’re choosing their yarn and their patterns, too! It all seems so creative to me, and I seem to convince myself that I’m not that creative–at least when it comes to “that” kind of creativity.

However, give me some food and a kitchen and there’s where my creativity comes through! I love to cook. I love to see how flavors come together in a dish and how I can highlight certain flavors with spices, or how one food plays off another. Cooking actually relaxes me, so it’s something I try to do at least 4-5 times a week. Which my husband l-o-v-e-s! I even love to watch the Food Network; I get all kinds of ideas from some of the chefs and home cooks there. But I always put my own spin on recipes (that’s where more of my creativity comes in to play).

Kate Jacobs wrote a book about cooking and having a network cooking show too… It was called Comfort Food. It’s another great read! She’s really good at both storytelling and character development, while at the same time making you want to learn whatever the characters’ lives center around.

Guess I just need to find some great knitting classes out there, and maybe even a few cooking classes to continue to hone my skills! Who knows? Maybe I’ll have a restaurant someday… (a dream of mine, for another post)

