Salmon

Barefoot Contessa Cookbook

Image via Wikipedia

mmmm, salmon… I’ve gotten to where I actually crave it. Which is funny (at least, to me it is), because I never used to like it. I wanted to like it. And I would sometimes even make myself eat it because I knew I should like it, and I knew it was good for me. But somewhere along the way-sometime in the last 5-6 years-I’ve grown to L-O-V-E it.

And we eat it almost weekly. Most of the time, I just season it on one side, sear it seasoned side down on the stove for about 5 minutes, and then bake it in the oven for 8-10 minutes. This is my go-to method for making salmon, and it’s so very easy! I started cooking it like this upon the recommendation of Ina Garten (the Barefoot Contessa). She says that searing it like this before putting it in the oven locks in those flavors, and boy, is she right! It’s crispy on the outside, flaky and moist on the inside. Just perfect.

One of the more elaborate (but really, just as easy) salmon recipes that I’ve found and return to again and again is from Giada de Laurentiis: Whole-Wheat Spaghetti with Lemon, Basil and Salmon.

It’s SO fresh and light, and I absolutely love the way that the heat from the pasta and salmon just *barely* wilts the spinach leaves… so they’re still a little crisp. And I’m a sucker for anything with basil.

…so, I just made myself hungry. I think I know what we’re having for dinner!

