Chicago, Times Two

Navy Pier as seen from the convergence of the ...

Image via Wikipedia

This summer I’ve had the opportunity to visit Chicago twice. Once with Brock and once with my mom and sister-in-law. They were both fantastic trips, but so completely different.

Brock and I went to Chicago for our one-year anniversary. Neither of us had ever been, and we had SUCH a great time! We stayed south of the river, in the Loop, at an A-MAZING hotel: The Palmer House. We walked ALL over the city–Grant Park, Millenium Park, along Lake Michigan, to Navy Pier and back, and all along Michigan Avenue. We did a tour of the city on a water taxi, and ate at some great restaurants–some recommended by Adam Richman on the Travel Channel’s “Man vs. Food”. We had Chicago deep dish pizza at Gino’s East, and Italian beef sandwiches at Al’s Italian Beef. We saw a concert in Millenium Park, and got to do a TON of people watching, which I love to do. We also got to go to Wrigley Field to see the Cubs play the Angels. That was a great experience. Wrigley is such a cool field–some of the seats are even on top of buildings across the street.

I think we saw about 8 different brides and grooms having their pictures taken in different areas of the city… They’ll all be celebrating their one-year anniversary next year!

Brock and I had such a great trip to Chicago, that we’re already planning our trip back. I CAN’T wait!

A little over a month after my trip with Brock, I returned for a girls’ trip with my mom and sister-in-law. It was our first girls’ trip, and I hope it’s not the last. We had a great time! We ate great food, we shopped, laughed, we “ooohed and aaahed” over things we’d LOVE to have but never will. And most of all we made a great memory. I even got to have lunch with a friend from high school who I haven’t seen since she graduated. Kristin graduated the year before I did. We cheered together for a few years, before she decided she was more “at home” on the track team. We were also on Homecoming Court together. It was really great to spend time catching up with her and to meet her little boy. What a little lover HE is!

We stayed at The Drake Hotel–north of the Chicago River. It was fabulous! Right downtown, and only a block from the Magnificent Mile. Seriously: if you’re ever in Chicago, you can’t go wrong with either The Drake or The Palmer House.

Both trips were such fun, and caused me to fall in love with the people and the city of Chicago. I haven’t spent a whole lot of time in other BIG cities (besides living in Atlanta for almost 7 years, and short visits to NYC, DC, and San Francisco). But I think I could totally live in Chi-town… or at least visit on a VERY regular basis! That we live only 6 hours away makes it very easy to make excuses to go back again and again, so I hope that will be the case.

